“In 2007 a Cultural Agreement between the Ministry of Culture and the Culture Region Wadden Sea was signed. The Culture Region consists of the four Wadden Sea municipalities Esbjerg, Fanø, Tønder and Varde. Inspired of a cultural project “Springflod” from 2006 and as a result of the Cultural Agreement in 2007 it was decided to let art express and interpret the culture and nature of the Wadden Sea areas. This was the beginning of the Vadehavsfestival.”

Princess Marie is Patron of the Vadehavsfestival since 2010. Read More about VadehavsFestival here.